Clothing, DIY, Fashion, pattern testing, Sewing

Hip hop, you don’t stop. Hip hop, why not romp? Ellie & Mac’s newest pattern release hits all the right notes.


If you’re a fan of quick, simple sews that breathe life into your kids’ wardrobes…look no further! 

This morning, Ellie & Mac released another fun pattern that’s perfect for your little girls this summer. Its called the Hip Hop Romper pattern. This pattern is a pdf file, available for immediate download. Its available in sizes 12-18 months- big girls’ size 12. It calls for knit fabric, but can easily be made in wovens as well. 

And if you’re like me and have a little boy who’s desperate to get a matching romper, don’t worry. A little bird told me that one is already in the works for boys, so they can hip hop all over this summer, too. 

Click this ^^link to head to Ellie & Mac main site. 


From printing it off to sewing my elastic in the legs, this pattern took a total of 45 minutes. When you take into consideration the fact that I have a nursling constantly attached to me while I sew lately, (growth spurt? LEAP phase? Teething?….all I know is I’m never not being touched. Lol) This is super impressive. 


The bubble -like romper features:

– fully lined bodice

– drawstring style strap that encircles the underarm area and can be loosened or tightened as needed 

– elastic bands at the bottom of the legs, to hold them in place through all your kids adventures. 

– loose, billowy shape that allows for air circulation and won’t restrict movement

– full color photo step by step tutorial

– Facebook group for assistance with any questions/issues 
For this romper, I used a cheap/simple rainbow stripe Cotton lycra fabric that i got from Aurora Design Fabrics, back when she was doing retail sales. Now it’s all custom (gorgeous) fabrics and she also prints small and large batches for individuals and businesses.  (Good to know, right?) , but I still have some of this left. 

I love this romper.  Another one of those things I didn’t think I needed for her (my daughter) until I saw her in it. 

Aquila’s big Brothers called this her “clown outfit”, but also said that it was “cool & loud”. (I think that’s good, in teenager speak.)

 She had so much fun for this photo shoot. She was trying to “tackle” her big brother and was running all over. We could barely keep up. I suppose that means she likes it. What do you think? 


***this pattern is tighter on the calves than shown in our photos.  The elastic was shortened, to achieve more of the “bubble” effect and is much cuter when the leg bands are higher up. 🙂
*photo credit Laura Akins Asup

*affliate link above. 

2 thoughts on “Hip hop, you don’t stop. Hip hop, why not romp? Ellie & Mac’s newest pattern release hits all the right notes.”

Leave a Reply

