Amazing products · Fashion · Small Business Feature · tutorials

Arrr maties! New weekly feature: Patterns for Pirates

Hi everyone! Hope you’re having an amazing week. My post is a bit late this week, as we took a short trip to North Carolina to see family. It was tons of fun. I’ll post more about that in a separate post later this week. Today’s post is all about one of my favorite pattern designers, Patterns for Pirates
I stumbled upon “P4P,” (as they’re affectionately called within the online sewing community) while searching the internet for a good legging pattern. They have a pattern called Peg Legs, and it’s a really great basic legging/shorties pattern. They can be made in any length and the sizes range from women’s XS-XXL. They have a soft yoga waistband and ample room for curves. They’re pretty great.

Pssst…You can get this pattern for free when you join their Facebook group .

Peg legs modified with a heart bum

After lots of lurking, I decided that I needed to try another pattern. I loved how simple the legging pattern was, and was looking to add some wardrobe Staples that I could wear while momming it up daily. That’s when I came across the Sweet Tee. This top has several options for the hemline, including curved, banded or large banded options. There are 4 different sleeve lengths and depending on which material you use to make it, it can look like an entirely different shirt! I have several different sweet tees and I wear at least 2 of them per week. My favorite version is the one pictured, which I made in some fabulous double brushed poly (think lularoe legging material. Oh so soft!). It has a super wide waistband, and I love that I can wear it as a sort of mini dress over leggings, or fold the waistband and wear it with jeans. 

Sweet tee with an extra wide band, short sleeves. Made in dbp

Another P4P classic is the Pirate Pencil Skirt. It is a fitted skirt that comes in short, midi or shin length, with an optional walking flap. The fact that it’s made out of knit and fitted makes it an amazing wardrobe piece. I have one in almost every color! I love that I can dress it up or down, depending on my mood, shoes and accessories! It looks just as great with my chucks as it does with just heels. Talk about perfection. 

*Pssst…This one is another freebie you can get from joining the Facebook group! See the link a few paragraphs up to join! Their online community is amazing and full of tons of great women, who are knowledgeable and oh so helpful with everything sewing related! 

Please ignore my horrible photo taking skills…or lack thereof.
Pencil​ skirt, made from black techno scuba in the mini length

 Other patterns I have on my “to download” list are the siren suit. Look how adorable it is! Perfect for summer and hiding things you don’t want seen! This suit has tons of options, just like the rest of the patterns from P4P. 

Not my photo.

Another classic is the sweetheart dress, seen below. This one is another summery dress that just screams date night or family photos to me! This one can be made as a shirt as well. 

 

Finally, Patterns for pirates just released a new pattern, the heart breaker cami.(below) This one is perfect for layering under shirts and dresses to offer more coverage, or simply worn on it’s own. Aren’t those straps adorable? I cannot wait to make this! 

These are just a few of the great patterns they offer for women. They also have great patterns for men, girls and boys! They offer bundle discounts when you purchase 3 or more patterns and they often have sales going on. Join us over in the Facebook group to learn more! 

 My favorite thing about the patterns for pirates patterns is that they are incredibly user friendly. The tutorials feature pictures and they walk you through the creation process step by step. They are suited to beginners very well. They also have an amazing blog (P4P University), full of tips, tricks, hacks and mods. It’s incredibly helpful to have as many options as possible for your patterns. 

The Facebook group, mentioned and linked above, is a great community as well, full of tons of knowledge, not just related to the patterns. When I’m looking for someone to help me figure out how to attach a zipper, which stitch to use for knits, how to modify a pattern, etc, the women in the group always have an answer. They are friendly and supportive and make it a one of kind experience!


 Head on over to the Patterns for Pirates shop to download you patterns today! I promise you won’t regret it! 


Thanks so much for reading. Have a great day.



*This post includes an affliate link. I receive a very small compensation for referring others to the site…So that I can afford my pattern and fabric buying habits. The affliate link in no way influences my opinion. That is completely my own. I love this designer! 

Leave a Reply

