Blogs · Clothing · Design · DIY · Etsy · family life · Fashion · motherhood · pattern testing · Sewing

The Easter dress

I don’t know about you, but I’ve never been a big fan of Easter. I mean, I’m a fan of celebrating the religious reasons for it, just not the whole frilly dress up, overgrown bunny rabbit 🐰 and candy hunt parts. This year it’s a completely different ball game. 

So I must look at my life and figure out what has changed. I had a girl. That’s the only thing. Which is hilarious, when you consider how staunchly I have been against dressing up for Easter for myself. Somehow, having a girl means that even though I have no church home, I will be dressed to the nines (and babygirl too, of course) on Easter this year. Excuse me for a second while I cry for my non-existent backbone. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

But, I digress. 
We were blessed enough to be testers for the most recent project by Annelaine Patterns, the Sunshine dress. We have been with Jennifer since the beginning of her pattern drafting and are big fans of her work. All of her dress patterns are simple, beautiful and finish very well, so it was no surprise that this one was a knock out ..But she quite literally knocked my socks off with this pattern!

The strappy back and double skirt with 2 layers of (loooong) ruffles scared me a bit at first, but I dove in because I couldn’t wait to see the results. I am so glad I did! The first version of our dress was this one, in this cute little elephant print, but some of the other testers doing larger sizes were having strap alignment issues, so we got to do it again. 

…And it was yet another smile from fate, as the second version was even more perfect than the first. I’ve never been one to get all dopey or excited about a dress, but this dress sent my girliness into overdrive. It just fairly screamed “Easter dress” to me. And for once, I was happy that we had an occasion to wear such a thing of beauty. 

If this dress doesn’t make you want to spin your little girl around, I don’t know what will! You can purchase a custom  one for your little girl, neice, friend, etc here, in my Etsy shop Many thanks to Jennifer over at Annelaine Patterns for allowing us to be part of her gorgeous vision! 

mermaid mama designs shop

Leave a Reply

