DIY · Sewing · tutorials · Uncategorized

Top free Lillebaby bib patterns

lillebaby

Hi everyone! I don’t know about you, but when I first started out sewing baby carrier accessories and was determined to make a bib or headrest cover and suck pads for my Lillebaby, I searched far and wide for tutorials and patterns. There are several great options on etsy, but those require payment and I was determined NOT to pay for it!

Currently, there are 3 major lillebaby bib tutorials out there and they all work well. It depends what type of cover you are searching for, but between the 3 of these tutorials, you should find what you need. So let’s get started.

love to liv tutorial
Love to Liv’s Lillebaby bib pattern 

This pattern (click here or the words under photo) (above) is by facebook user “Love to Liv.” Her pattern is one of the quickest versions and most basic versions and therefore, the most beginner friendly option, except that there is no tutorial to go along with it. When she first posted it, she instructed folks to message her via facebook to get instructions, but that was over a year ago.

The pattern itself is straightforward. I did notice that when printing this pattern, you have to be sure to uncheck the option to “fit to page,” as it will shrink your pattern pieces and make it smaller than it needs to be.

This pattern is for a 1 sided, lined bib cover. You place the headrest inside the pieces and the ends hang out, ensuring that you can use your snaps and headrest clips easily. You will need to be able to use a ladder or button stich to connect the front and back pieces at the armpit area. If you use regular stitching, the headrest won’t be able to fit into the cover, rendering it useless for its purposes.

Laura's lillebaby bib tutorial
Laura at Square Peg Farm’s Lillebaby bib tutorial

This pattern and tutorial combo is a crowd favorite. It is the first thing that pops up in google when you try to find a pattern or tutorial and is all over pinterest. It is user friendly, fairly simple and the instructions are easy to follow. There are also a ton of photos, showing you how to complete the pattern and how to place it on the carrier, making it stand out from the rest. It is also a COMPLETE headrest cover, which means that the headrest goes inside of it and you don’t need to leave the ends out or take it off to use your snaps or headrest.

Laura’s instructions are flawless, so there is no description needed. With printing, though, you may need to ensure that the “fit to page” option isn’t checked. (Although she includes measurements so even if it were to print wrong, you would be able to stop the process and fix it before any real harm was done) The bib leaves an opening for your headrest snaps to fit through, meaning you can easily use them. You can also use this bib cover with the headrest up or down, just ensure you place your pattern pieces correctly, or your print will be upside down when your headrest is up.

candace weebly lillebaby bib tutorial
Candace’s lillebaby bib cover pattern and tutorial

Our 3rd and final pattern and tutorial is one by Candace over on Weebly. It includes a pattern and a tutorial that are very user friendly and easy to follow. Again, Candace did wonderfully explaining her process and included multiple photos to see how it worked. Her prints are pretty snazzy, too!

This bib pattern is similar to the first one in that the ends of your bib will be left open for ease of use. The difference is the level of explanation and…wait for it….it’s REVERSIBLE! That is what I had been searching for in a lillebaby bib pattern that I couldn’t find anywhere else. I used both of the above patterns and tried to make them reversible myself. It ended terribly and I wasted a lot of fabric (much to my dismay). She explains how to make the bib reversible, and also how to avoid having an upside down print when your headrest is up. Her instructions and photos are flawless.

All three of these options have different characteristics that will help you, depending on what you’re looking for. There is a simple pattern that is easy to follow for beginniners, an intermediate one that covers more and one that is reversible. Each option is still fairly easy to follow though, if you go slowly and pay attention.

After my disasterous first attempt, I decided to take my own advice. I ended up combining the last two patterns/tutorials and doing a reversible bib that covered my entire headrest. It still had an upside down print issue, but looked pretty great, if I do say so myself. I have since changed my pattern and improved my technique. one of these days, I hope to upload my own tutorial and pattern to the world…but it isn’t quite ready just yet. For now, I’m so grateful to these three women who inspired me and continue to inspire more women like me everyday by sharing their knowledge. Thanks ladies! We appreciate you!

anchor bib and pads
My 2nd attempt
0706162041
Much better…except that the reverse of this one was upside down!
anchor bib and pads 2
I’ll share my favorite curved suck pad tutorial next week!
2016-07-07_10.02.18
Thanks for looking!

 

2 thoughts on “Top free Lillebaby bib patterns

  1. Hello! I’m trying to figure out how to combine the two as you did. Did you just allow for the extra width of the fabric to voer the snaps on the headrest from the anchor one but put it all together like the flower print so it can be reversible?
    Thank you for your help!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi amanda. I actually just cut the pattern out of 2 different fabrics, as well as my lining material. The smaller pattern piece is the one that ends up covering the front of the headrest and it has a spot marked that is meant to be cut open, glued back and top stitched, then the snaps go through that opening once the cover is on. Does that make better sense?

      Like

Leave a Reply

