Baby carrier accessories · Blogs · Etsy · family life · Fashion · motherhood · Sewing · Uncategorized

Venturing into “reel” foreign territory

I’m not a person who loves to be  in front of the camera. In fact, before I realized that my son had no pictures with me IN them, I kinda hid from cameras in all shapes and sizes. I am an introvert at heart, although I was an extrovert when I was younger. I love nothing more than to curl up with a good book and disappear. As I grow older, I’m coming out of my shell again, but it’s still incredibly hard for me to put myself out there. I worry a lot about what people think, and it can be scary to be completely open, as we are on social media sometimes.

 

That being said, sometimes the best way to share something, whether it be your work, your opinion, your life…is to make a video. I’ve had a Facebook page for my business for a little while now, and have enjoyed interacting with friends, customers and family via the page. I post updates with new items, share family life snippets, have giveaways, take polls, and most importantly, we talk and share things. (The photo below was sent to me from one of my customers along with a very sweet note) This process has been a real eye opener for me. I thought that no one would want to hear what I think about ANYTHING, let alone want to hear a little about EVERYTHING. But they did! I’m still in a little bit of shock over this. But I’m loving it. Every minute of it.

 

feedback pic

The thing that was most surprising to me was the reaction I got when I posted videos. The most clicked, liked and commented on posts were those that were in video form. I’m not sure if I’m just that terrible of a writer, whether people are just more inclined to watch videos, since you can just listen to them while doing other things and  you aren’t forced to sit and read a post, or whether videos are just more fun. I’m really not sure what it is, but either way it shakes out, I should be posting more videos. Because of this,  I took the ultimate plunge for an introvert…and started a YouTube channel

 

There are a lot of things I’m interested in and feel I could share. How to get started selling online via eBay or Amazon, sewing tutorials for baby carrier accessories or baby clothing, a tutorial on arm knitting (super fun, by the way!), fun family activities for all ages, homeschooling teaching videos, to name just a few of my current favorite things.

 

Since my business is currently centered around baby carrier accessories, I decided to upload a video on how to clean a soft structured baby carrier.  I have a Lillebaby baby carrier  that I’m constantly watching different tutorials about, yet I couldn’t find any tutorials on that particular subject, so I felt confident that the majority of my customers could benefit from it. It’s my own personal goal to upload at least one video per week, centered around my interests or those of my friends, family and customers.

back carry

I said all of the above to say this: I now have a YouTube channel! I would love for you to check it out and let me know what you think! I’m also very open to any and all feedback, so please let me know what kind of videos you would like to see.  I made the channel to be of service to my friends, family and customers. To share information and teach things and help in any way I can. I may not be at home in front of a camera lens, but I AM happiest when I’m helping others. So please, if you would, subscribe here and let me know what you think! Your feedback is very important to me!

 

Have an amazing day!

April

anchors outfits

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

