Blogs, Etsy, family life, motherhood, Sewing

Life getting in the way

I had been so proud of myself for the last few days. For once, it seemed like I was on a roll and getting things done. I had created some new items, listed them, created a blog post or two, kept on top of my Facebook page. I had even managed to keep all the kids alive and fed while all of this was going on. …..

Then I noticed something. 

The laundry pile looked about the same (teetering). The floors also had begun to resemble something of a zoo walkway, rather than the floors of a home. 
That’s when it hit me. I don’t have time to do it all. In this age of everyone trying to accomplish as much as they possibly can, most of us are loathe to admit that there are things we cant handle. I will admit it freely. It seems I can usually stay one top of one area of my life. I can be the best mother I can be, the best housekeeper I can be, the best business owner I can be, the best wife I can be, or I can take care of my self. I can’t do it all. 

So while hubby tackled the laundry pile (bless him!),  I worked on the kitchen and the floors. I had 2 projects sitting on my desk/sewing table that were calling to me, and I wanted nothing more than to finish them. But the most important thing at that moment in time was the towering stack of dishes and floor that couldnt be crawled on safely. Perhaps that’s all it really comes down to. We simply choose the area of our lives that is in the most critical condition, and then take care of it. Is there ever a point where it’s possible to get ahead of it? 

I’ll be implementing some new strategies this week, like using a timer before beginning to do something “fun” (in my case reading or sewing). I will allow myself a short window of time for these things, then a set amount of time in which I work on the house, give the children their one on one time, take care of business aspects of managing a small business, focus on hubby, etc. It seems that there must be a way to have a well balanced life. I am determined to find it. 😃

2 thoughts on “Life getting in the way”

  1. As a mom, I genreally start out with a long to-do list, then it gets whitled down to the “essentials” list or top 3 things I need to do today. Nope, no one can do it or have it “all”. And soemtimes balance looks like a pile of dirty dishes. And you know what…it’s OK. 🙂 Thanks for sharing what real mom life looks like.

    Like

    1. My pleasure. My life looks like this a lot the past year. If I could just remember that at the end of the day, the mess isn’t the most important thing,..I think I’ll be ok.

      I constantly write lists too. Will definitely start doing one with just the essentials. Thank you for that!

      Like

Leave a Reply

